Thai Riders Theplib, Pinpon Bag Motocross Masters Of Asia Plums

March 28th, 2007

STA. MONICA. PUERTO PRINCESA CITY – Defending champion Arnon Theplib and Arongkot Pinpon came up with classic acts as they steered Thailand to a sweep of the titles in the 2007 Puerto Princesa City Motocross Masters of Asia FIM-UAM Asian Motocross Championships yesterday at the world-class Sta. Monica Racetrack here to bag the Mayor Edward Hagedron Cup.

Theplib, who had slow starts in both races, left a lasting impression on the huge crowd with his amazing rally that bagged the centerpiece Asian 125 crown and the Mayor Edward Hagedorn Cup against Aussie champion Kane Scanlan in this event supported by the City of Puerto Princesa, Aboitiz 2GO, Oakley, the Philippine Sports Commission and Asian regional promoter of event Xtreme Worx Philippines.

Pinpon, a 12-year-old first timer in the event, displayed consistency and determination to capture the Asian Junior 85 plum over Farhan Hendra of Indonesia.

The Philippine-NAMSSA Team, egged on by the support of an estimated 25,000 spectators, likewise gave a strong fight to clinch overall third place behind 10-time national champion Glen Aguilar and Jenzen Manuel who both ended third in the Asian 125 and Asian Junior 85 respectively.

Three Indonesians – Hannu Malherbe, Denny Orlando and Aldi Lazaroni landed overall fourth, fifth and sixth respectively while another newcomer Erdenbileg Khaliunbold of Mongolia was seventh overall.

Completing the top 10 finishers were Japanese Tabuchi Takeshi, Cebuano Jon Eleazar Adlawan and China’s top bet Shi Yu Weng.

For his title-clinching feat last year, FIM-UAM Vice-President & Asian Motocross Commission Macky Carapiet announced that Theplib will be sent to compete in any European Motocross World Championship leg of his choice all expenses paid including factory team bike set up, airfare, accommodation, entry free and limousine service.

Aguilar took the holeshot at the start of Moto 1, sending the pro-Filipino crowd up in their feet. But at the turn, he lost the lead to another favorite, New Zealand’s James Robinson who controlled the tempo until the fourth lap.

Robinson, however, figured in a spill as Theplib surprised everyone coming from nowhere to grab the pole position on the fifth lap and pulled away from the pack enroute to victory.

Scanlan finished second while Indonesian first timer Hannu Malherbe took third place in Moto 1. Aguilar finished fourth while Indonesians Denny Orlando and Aldi Lazaroni, and Kenneth San Andres checked in fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

In the second Moto, Aguilar appeared headed for a kill as he dictated the tempo in the first five laps. But Theplib caught up with him at the second to the last turn going to the table top and never looked back from them.

Scanlan also passed Aguilar on the 10th lap to claim second place while Aguilar contended himself with a third place finish. Indons Orlando and Malherbe followed in fourth and fifth while Robinson ended sixth.

The Asian Junior 85 division also saw first timers Kacey Callaway of Dubai, UAE and Paul Errol Angoco of Guam, USA completing the top five finishers. Even our young riders Jeven Legrada, Patrick North Orbe and Lorenzo “Noynoy” Rellosa made it into the top 10 list.

Puerto Princesa City Mayor Edward Hagedorn expressed his gratitude to NAMSSA and Xtreme Works Philippines organizers for the huge entertainment they brought to the city and the big impact of the event on Puerto Princesa City’s Sports tourism industry. The next leg of the nationals shall be the Freddie Mayor Tinga NAitonal Motocross ORUnd to eb held in the Fast Track CIrcuti in Taguig.

For complete results and other details on the Motocross Masters of Asia, please email or call 0917-8992363 or check out &


Asian Motorcycle Union

AsiaMX Video