Puerto Princesa City, Palawan - Thailand's Arnon "Turbo" Theplib lived up to expectations with convincing victories in the two motos of the Asian 125cc/MX2 class to lead the winners of the opening round of the 2013 FIM Asia Motocross Supercross Championship (AMSC) held here on March 24.

The Thai ace lost the holeshot to A.P. Honda Thailand teammate Jugkrit Suksripaisan in the opening moto but regained the upperhand on the third lap to anchor a 1-2 Thai finish with top rival Tomoya Suzuki from Japan taking third.

It was a different story in the final moto as Turbo took the holeshot and never looked back. Suzuki struggled in the early goings of moto 2 where he fell in fourth spot behind Suksripaisan and the Philippines' top rider Kenneth San Andres after the first turn. Suzuki unleashed a furious rally in the ensuing laps that allowed him to overtake San Andres and Suksripaisan midway through the heat to snare second overall. Suksripaisan claimed third overall with San Andres and veteran Jovie Saulog finishing in 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup> respectively to the delight of their cheering countrymen.

The event marked the tenth straight year for Mayor Edward Hagedorn and his constituents to



host to the Philippine leg of the 2013 FIM Asia Motocross Supercross Championship. FIM Asia cited the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association (NAMSSA) with the Best Organizer Award of the 2012 AMSC during the opening ceremony. The award was based on the competitors' choice as the best organized event among the AMSC rounds in 2012. Other sponsors of this year's AMSC were Repsol, HJC Helmets, Shakeys, Du Ek Sam Inc. Puerto Princesa, Honda Prestige Puerto Princesa, Asia Brewery Inc. and Otto Shoes. The event was also supported by the Department of Tourism and recognized by the Philippine Sports

Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee.

Cebu's Jonjon Adlawan along with teammates Jubenile and Jovanni Abellar, Guam's JR Cepeda and Marikina's Ralph Ramento completed the Asian 125/MX2 class' top ten finisher roster.

Reigning Asian Junior 85cc champion Mark Reggie Flores shrugged off a second place finish behind Cabanatuan's Gabriel "Bilog" Macaso in the opening moto to take finish first in the payoff race and claim the category's overall plum. Macaso took second overall with Sri Lanka's Jacques Gunawardena settling for third. Cebu's Earl Jean Brylle Ornopia and La Union's Michael Tipolo completed the top 5 finisher cast as they finished 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup> respectively.

Vilmor Molera made his countrymen proud by pipping Guam's Stanley Yasuhiro and Cebu's Siegfred Ornopia in the motos of the Asian Veterans class. Molera finished first in the two motos to take first in the class. Yasuhiro's second place finish in the final moto allowed him to grab second from eventual third placer Ornopia. The Philippines' Junjun San Andres and Gimo Gonzales wound up 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup> overall in the class.

For more information on the FIM Asia Motocross Championship and other NAMSSA events and activities, visit <u>www.namssa.com</u> and the NAMSSA Secretariat Facebook Page.